Next on Kickstarter: Friday Night Lights?

When Rob Thomas and Kristen Bell launched their Kickstarter campaign to fund a Veronica Mars movie, they made waves. And the campaign’s roaring success — raising over $5M of a $2M goal; not to mention lots of critical acclaim and buzz — has started inspiring other creative minds to jump on the crowdfunding bandwagon. Zach Braff, for instance, has managed to raise $2.6M towards his new movie, Wish I Was Here, and there’s still a week to go.

Now it looks like Imagine Entertainment plans to revive Friday Night Lights as a movie. And they are considering crowdfunding as a way to make that happen reports Deadline. “We made a terrific feature with Pete Berg, turned it into a terrific TV series and will now make a movie from that series. I’m not sure such a thing has been done before,” explained Imagine Entertainment’s Brian Grazer.

This isn’t the first time someone attached to the show has spoken about the idea, either. Adrianne Palicki (Tyra Collette) spoke about the possibility (and her own conflicted feelings) during a press conference earlier this year, reports Screen Rant.

I think they’re starting the Kickstarter, which is insane. It’s crazy. I have multiple feelings on it. I love it so much and I’m afraid that a movie might ruin it and I don’t want that to happen. We went out on top. At the same time, to get to be on that show again, I would die for it. I would love to do it. I’m right there in the middle.

Actress Connie Britton (Tami Taylor) seems fully on board, though, telling E!: “I would love it to happen. I’m a big supporter of it happening.” Britton was not sure whether the project would actually get off the ground, but was hopeful: “I know it was being written and [show creator] Peter Berg is really serious about so I think if everybody got on board, I don’t see why we couldn’t have a movie.”

In fact, all the way back in February, exec producer Peter Berg was talking to MTV about the possibility.

Jason Katims, who was our super talented show-runner, is about done with the script. You never know. So much of these things become scheduling. Kyle [Chandler] is busy, Adrianne is busy, Taylor is busy, Connie Britton is busy, but if we can get everyone in the same room at the same time, we all want to do it. We’re not done with Friday Night Lights.

One thing is for certain: we here at Cult TV are excited by the idea of a revival. Because we loved the Dillon Panthers, of course, but also because it’s indicative of how the television landscape is truly changing, thanks to the Internet. And this seems to be a good thing for these undervalued, under-watched shows that we all love.

